Principal Investigator

John D. Murray, PhD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, and Physics B.S. Physics and Mathematics, Yale University (2006) Ph.D. Physics, Yale University (2013)

Postdoctoral Researchers

Warren W. Pettine, MD

Postdoctoral Fellow B.A. Colorado College (2008) M.D. University of Colorado (2017) Warren uses biophysical modeling, algorithmic modeling, neural data analysis and online human behavioral tasks to study attention during decision-making. He is particularly interested in how attention flexibly adjusts to changing conditions, and how that can be altered in ASD, ADHD or OCD.

Takuya Ito, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate B.A. Mathematics, Washington University in St. Louis (2013) Ph.D. Neuroscience, Rutgers University (2020)

Jacob A. Miller, PhD

Wu Tsai Postdoctoral Appointee B.S. Neuroscience, Duke University (2016) Ph.D. Neuroscience, University of California, Berkeley (2021)

Graduate Students

Rachel A. Cooper

PhD Student in Physics    

Amber Howell

PhD Student in Neuroscience B.S. Psychology, University of Wisconsin, Madison (2015)

Hui Liang Peng

PhD Student in Physics    

Heraclitos (Max) Lefcochilos-Fogelquist

PhD Student in Physics    

Frederick Berl

PhD Student in Applied Physics    

Harper Cho

PhD Student in Physics    

Post-Baccalaureate Researchers

Cove Geary

Postgraduate Associate B.S. Cognitive Science, B.A. Statistics & Data Science, Yale University (2021)  

Undergraduate Students

[None at this time]

PhD Dissertations

  • Daming Li, PhD in Physics, 2022: Bistable Neural Dynamics Underlying Cognition and Spontaneous Activity: Computational Modeling and Empirical Analysis.
  • Daniel B. Ehrlich, PhD in Neuroscience, 2021: Computational Principles of Multiple-Task Learning in Humans and Artificial Neural Networks.
  • Maxwell Shinn, PhD in Neuroscience, 2021 (Awarded Neuroscience Doctoral Thesis Prize): Time as a Bridge from Brain to Behavior.
  • Joshua B. Burt, PhD in Physics, 2020: Large-Scale Organization of Microcircuit Specialization in Human Cortex.
  • Norman H. Lam, PhD in Physics, 2020: Inhibitory Regulation of Cognitive Functions in Cortical and Thalamic Circuits: Computational Mechanisms and Experimental Predictions.


Postdoctoral Researchers
  • Daniel Ehrlich, 2021-2022. Postdoctoral researcher at University of California, Berkeley (Anne Collins Lab).
  • Markus Helmer, 2016-2021. Head of Research and Development at Manifest Technologies.
  • Murat Demirtas, 2016-2019. Researcher at Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer (IDIBAPS).
  • Julie Goulet, 2016-2017. Researcher at CITEC Universität Bielefeld.
Graduate Students
  • Daming Li, 2016-2022. Data scientist at Uber.
  • Daniel Ehrlich, 2015-2021. Postdoctoral researcher at University of California, Berkeley (Anne Collins Lab).
  • Maxwell Shinn, 2016-2021. Postdoctoral researcher at University College London (Harris/Carandini Lab).
  • Joshua Burt, 2015-2020. Data scientist at Neumora Therapeutics.
  • Norman Lam, 2016-2020. Postdoctoral researcher at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Halassa Lab).
Post-Baccalaurate Researcher
  • Sam Zheng, 2019-2020. PhD student in Neuroscience at New York University.
Undergraduate Students
  • Nina Bernick, 2022.
  • Cove Geary, 2021.
  • Laurel Turner, 2019-2021.
  • Hendrick Townsend, 2019.
  • Amber Hu, 2018-2021. PhD student in Statistics at Stanford.
  • Jasmine Stone, 2018-2020. PhD student in Neuroscience at Columbia University.
  • Sungrok Trevor Shim, 2018-2020.
  • Adela DePavia, 2018-2019. PhD student in in Computational & Applied Mathematics at University of Chicago.
  • Hendrick Townsend, 2019.
  • Lasya Sreepada, 2018-2019. PhD student in Biomedical Engineering at University of Pennsylvania.
  • Gonzalo Aguilar, 2018.
  • Natasha Navejar, 2016. MD candidate at Baylor.
  • Alex Atanasov, 2016-2018. PhD student in Physics at Harvard University.
  • Dave Brandfonbrener, 2016-2018. PhD student in Computer Science at New York University.
  • Will Eckner, 2016-2017. PhD student in Physics at University of Colorado, Boulder.